Six Sigma Certification

What is Six Sigma certification?

Six Sigma certification is a verification of an individual’s mastery of a reputable quality assurance method. Certificates for Six Sigma workouts are assigned by levels using a belt classification system similar to belt levels used in martial arts.

Six Sigma is a set of quality management techniques and tools developed in the 1980s and adopted by American companies, including General Electric. Development of the Six Sigma system is credited to Bill Smith and Mikel Harry, two Motorola engineers, and the name was trademarked by Motorola in 1993.

There is no standard Six Sigma program. Programs are offered by many colleges, online and on campus, and are offered in-house by many companies.

Key points to remember

  • Six Sigma is a set of quality management techniques and tools that have been widely adopted by American businesses.
  • Six Sigma is originally a method of minimizing errors or defects in manufacturing processes.
  • He has since had a considerable influence on management practices in the United States and abroad.

Understanding Six Sigma Certification

The name Six Sigma comes from a statistical measure represented by the lowercase Greek symbol sigma (σ). On a bell curve measurement data and standard deviation, sigma represents one standard deviation from the mean of a set of data. So, six sigma refers to data that falls with six standard deviations on either side of the mean of the data set.

On the curve, all data points outside of six sigma represent products outside of acceptable standards – these are usually called defects. The Six Sigma bell curve represents one million data points. Therefore, if your product is within six sigma (or six standard deviations from the mean on each side), you are likely to have only 3.4 defects per million items produced.

In a manufacturing process, this is the ultimate level to achieve, guaranteeing error-free delivery of a product 99.99966% of the time. Six Sigma training therefore focuses on developing management processes that reliably lead to virtually flawless results in manufacturing or any business activity.

Six Sigma Belt Levels

Six Sigma certifications are awarded at belt levels relevant to the employee’s business position within an organization. They are acquired through practical experience, course-based training and examinations. The belt levels are:

  • white belt: Awarded for completing an entry level overview of the tools used in Six Sigma, its history and the structure of the system.
  • yellow belt: Awarded for assisting a project at a practical level and passing an exam demonstrating an understanding of the implementation, execution and application of Six Sigma.
  • Green belt: Awarded for learning the principles of Six Sigma and implementing them under the guidance of a black belt in actual projects. Must pass an exam demonstrating in-depth knowledge of the phases of the Six Sigma method.
  • Black belt: Plans and executes projects using Six Sigma principles. Must pass an exam demonstrating complete knowledge of the phases of the Six Sigma method.
  • Master black belt: Manages the implementation of Six Sigma projects across all functions. Demonstrates through examination an expert understanding of the philosophies and principles of Six Sigma.
  • Champion: A senior manager responsible for the implementation of Six Sigma in all departments.

Benefits of Six Sigma

For employers

Six Sigma helps employers in several ways. In addition to improving employee and process performance, companies benefit from:

  • Waste reduction
  • Increased efficiency
  • Revenue increase
  • Reduced errors and defects
  • Increased customer satisfaction and loyalty
  • Increased brand recognition

For employees

Employees benefit from Six Sigma training and application as much as businesses. Lots of experience :

  • Salary increase
  • A multiplication of opportunities
  • Greater job security
  • Leadership Opportunities

Lean Six Sigma

Lean Six Sigma is derived from a combination of Lean and Six Sigma principles. Lean focuses on eliminating the waste of physical and human resources by identifying the causes of defects, overproduction, waiting, unused talent, transport waste, inventory waste, movement waste and additional processing.

Lean Six Sigma uses Six Sigma techniques to identify and eliminate wasted resources that do not generate end-user value while continuously working towards a goal of 3.4 defects per million products.

No official standards for Six Sigma

No standard or unifying organization sets a standard for Six Sigma belt certification. Instead, each company, school, or certification body determines its own criteria.

In some organizations, certification may require passing an exam or series of exams. In others, an individual must complete several Six Sigma-based projects. In addition, certification services charge fees.

How much does Six Sigma cost?

Since Six Sigma training is not standardized, costs vary depending on who is providing the training. For example, a company that trains employees in Six Sigma probably won’t charge the employees, but will incur the costs of hiring people who can teach the subject, develop the curriculum, and waste the employee’s time on his usual work.

You can take certification tests through a variety of sources, such as Purdue University, the Council for Six Sigma Certification, or the Project Management Academy. Project Management Academy charges $495 for its Beginner Yellow Belt certification, $2,295 for its Green Belt training, and $3,595 for its Black Belt training.

The Council for Six Sigma Certification offers free white belt certification and charges $99 for a yellow belt, $159 for a green belt, and $229 for a black belt (for primary certifications, Level II certifications are more expensive) .

What is a Six Sigma certification?

Six Sigma certification means that you have received a specific level of training and understand the concepts involved in a particular quality improvement method.

How long does it take to get Six Sigma certification?

The time it takes to earn a Six Sigma certification depends on many factors. If you receive the training through your employer, it may take a week or more. On the other hand, studying in your free time can take the time needed to study and pass the exam.

How much does Six Sigma certification cost?

Six Sigma certification costs vary by level from $99 to $3,595. Costs also depend on how much instruction you receive or if you only pay for the exam.

The essential

Six Sigma is a quality control certification that attempts to educate people on analyzing processes and results to reduce waste and defects. There are several levels of certification, from a primary end user to a Six Sigma master user who acts as a senior Quality control member.

Six Sigma benefits both employees and employers because its use can reduce waste and defects, thereby increasing the value of a business for consumers and end users. This can lead to high levels of customer satisfaction, more revenue, higher compensation, and better products.

Disclaimer: Curated and re-published here. We do not claim anything as we translated and re-published using Google translator. All ideas and images shared only for information purpose only. Ideas and information collected through Google re-written in accordance with guidelines and published. We strictly follow Google Webmaster guidelines. You can reach us @ We resolve the issues within hour to keep the work on top priority.