How to Delete Your Facebook Account (2020)

Are you planning to delete your Facebook account?

We don’t hold it against you! Facebook has long been known to take, store and sell your data, which raises a privacy alarm.

If you really want to delete your Facebook account, then rest assured, we have what you need.

It used to be a long process, but everything has changed and it’s now easier than ever to delete your account.

We have put together a guide showing you how to delete your Facebook account or deactivate it if you prefer to put it on ice for a while and think about it.

So whether you want to pause on Facebook or permanently delete your account once and for all, here’s how.

Let’s start!

How to delete your Facebook account

This handy guide and the figures mentioned below have been compiled from various sources on the Web, such as Facebook and Wikipedia.

Here’s how to delete your Facebook account:

Before deleting your Facebook account

Download Facebook information

Download and archive your data

Before continuing and permanently deleting your Facebook account, it would be a good idea to save your content from Facebook servers, in case you want to use it in the future.

Fortunately, Facebook facilitates this process and recommends that you make a copy of your data before deleting your account.

All you need to do is:

  • Go to “Your Facebook information page”.
  • Click on “Download your information. ”
  • To choose the quality of the support, the archive format and define a date range.
  • Your information will appear first, but scroll down to choose information about you as well as.
  • Once you’re ready, click on the blue “Create fileAnd the archiving process will begin.
  • You can keep an eye on it by consulting the “Available files tab. “
  • When finished, click on “Download,“and you’re done.

Revoke application permissions

It is also a good idea to revoke the application permissions that you have linked to your account.

To do this, you will need to:

  • Access Facebook app settings
  • Revoke the authorization of the application and deactivate Facebook integration on your phone or tablet
  • Log out and delete the Facebook app from your phone and tablet.
  • Disable Messenger and all associated apps.
  • Find and disconnect all other apps, like Spotify.

Once done, you’re ready to permanently delete your Facebook account. However, if you still have doubts, try to disable it for a while instead.

Deactivate or delete Facebook? – What is the difference?

If you’re not ready to delete your Facebook account 100% yet, but want to take a little time on the social media platform instead, deactivating your account is the best option.

Once your account is deactivated, all your information will always be stored in the Facebook database, ready to be reactivated at any time. All you have to do is log into your account with the same username, email address, phone number and password, and you’re good to go.

According to Facebook, if you deactivate your account, “People can’t see your timeline or search for you” and “You can reactivate when you want.”

Whereas if you choose to permanently delete your account, Facebook will erase your data, which means that you will have to create a new account to use the platform again, and Facebook clearly states that “You cannot regain access a once it is deleted. ”

So, if you’re still not sure about permanently deleting your Facebook account, follow the steps below to deactivate it instead:

How to deactivate your Facebook account

Deactivate Facebook account

1. Go to Facebook

Load Facebook in your browser, click the small drop-down arrow in the upper right corner and select “settings” from the list.

2. Click on “Your Facebook information”

Click “Your Facebook Information” in the pane on the left side of the page.

Once the page has loaded, select “Deactivation and Deletion” from the list of options.

3. Select “Deactivate account”

You will see a small radio button next to “Deactivate account”, select it and click on “Continue to deactivate account” to continue.

4. Give a reason

On the next page, you will be asked to provide a reason why you want to deactivate your account. Choose from the list of options and decide if you want to continue using Messenger. Otherwise, you will have to deactivate it separately, as mentioned above.

Click on “Deactivate” to continue.

5. Click on “Deactivate now”

Facebook will ask you to provide your password to confirm deactivation and will ask you for a final warning message.

Read the warning message and click “Deactivate Now” when you are ready to continue. Facebook will then log you out and return to the “Connect to Facebook” page.

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Delete a Facebook account

1. Go to Facebook

Log into your Facebook account and go to your “Settings” page, located in the drop-down menu that appears when you click the drop-down arrow in the upper right corner of the page.

2. Click on “Your Facebook information”

Click “Your Facebook Information” in the pane on the left side of the page.

Once the page has loaded, select “Deactivation and Deletion” from the list of options.

3. Select “Permanently delete account”

You will see a small radio button next to “Delete account permanently”, select it and click “Continue to deactivate account” to continue.

4. Click on “Delete account”

At this point, Facebook will ask you for a warning detailing the ramifications of permanently deleting your account.

Be sure to read the disclaimer and click the “Delete Account” button if you are 100% sure it is the right choice.

5. Enter the password and continue

The last step in the process is to enter your password and click on continue. Once done, your Facebook account will be permanently deleted.

How to leave other Facebook-owned services

Chances are if you have a Facebook account, you also have Instagram and WhatsApp accounts.

So if you really want to erase your data from the social media giant Facebook, you should also consider deleting those accounts as Facebook owns them.

Summary

We hope you found the way to delete your Facebook account guide useful!

Having a Facebook account has its advantages, both personally and professionally.

However, the more our lives enter the digital age, the more essential data protection and confidentiality become. With this in mind, companies like Facebook must ensure that they keep their users safe, or more than one person will continue to delete their accounts.

Here is a brief summary of how to permanently delete your Facebook account:

  1. Go on facebook
  2. Click on “Your Facebook information”
  3. Select “Permanently delete account”
  4. Click on “Delete account”
  5. Enter “Password and continue”

Have you managed to permanently delete your Facebook account? Leave a comment below.

Content Protection by DMCA.com

Check Also

Billionaire Ken Griffin’s $100 Million Basquiat Painting Displayed In Chicago

If you are planning to be in Chicago soon, you should definitely plan a visit …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *