How to block channels on YouTube

Whether you post public YouTube videos for fun or for profit, interactions with everyday internet users – especially trolls – are an inevitable part of the process. Unfortunately, some commentators seem to have nothing better to do with their time than posting offensive and derogatory comments, so consider blocking their channel rather than continuing to feed the trolls.

By blocking someone’s channel, you are effectively removing their ability to comment on videos you have posted publicly, which will limit their ability to be a jerk. Genuinely dedicated criminals can always create another account, but at least you won’t have to hear any slaps for a while. Read on to learn how to block YouTube channels on your PC and mobile devices in a few easy steps.

How to block channels on YouTube: PC

To block a YouTube channel, you must be logged in to your YouTube account. You will need the username of the account you want to block. You can get it by clicking on the name of the offending user, entering keywords in the search bar and YouTube filters.

Step 1: Search YouTube for the username of the account you want to block.

2nd step: Select the channel icon, then click Abut in the channel toolbar.

Image of the YouTube Block Channel button
Daniel Martin / Screenshot

Step 3: Click on the report user that looks like a gray flag and select Block User from the list that appears.

Step 4: Select Submit in the confirmation box to prevent the user’s channel from commenting on your public videos.

Image of YouTube block user submit button
Daniel Martin / Screenshot

How to block channels on YouTube: iOS and Android

Step 1: Open the YouTube app on your smartphone or mobile device, tap the search icon and enter the name of the channel you want to block.

Image from YouTube channel search results
Daniel Martin / Screenshot

2nd step: Tap the account to view its main page, then select the three vertical dots in the upper right corner of your screen.

Image of YouTube block user button
Daniel Martin / Screenshot

Step 3: Tap Block a user so what Block to confirm your decision.

You are ready! This particular troll will be unable to talk about your videos (at least until they create their next burner account).

Want more tips on managing your YouTube account? Check out our guides on how to change your YouTube name and how to delete your account for good.

Editor’s recommendations




https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/how-to-block-channels-on-youtube/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *